League (Chedoke Minor Hockey)


Fair Play

The Chedoke Minor Hockey League (CMHL) is a recreational ice hockey league based in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. The league formally announced its active participation in the betterment of minor hockey in 1992 with the goal to foster, promote and teach amateur hockey within the City of Hamilton.

The inaugural CMHL season of recreational hockey play was in 1994 with over 700 registrants and 40 teams. Mr. Bob Cober was the first President and successfully presided over the CMHL from 1992-1995. At the onset in 1994, the CMHL introduced House League and HUB programs, while the Select program was included afterwards in 1996. 
The CMHL is a member of the Hamilton Minor Hockey Council (HMHC). The HMHC was established in January 1988 to promote, organize and conduct all team competition to the maximum playing accommodation and financial resources. The Hamilton Minor Hockey council is affiliated with Alliance Hockey which is a member of Hockey Canada and the Ontario Hockey Federation.

Other recreational league members of the HMHC now include Coronation Minor Hockey, Dofasco Minor Hockey, Lawfield Minor Hockey, Mount Hamilton Minor Hockey Association and Rosedale Minor Hockey Association.
The CMHL recognizes that the benefits of playing hockey go beyond a healthy, competitive and recreational sport. Players in the CMHL instinctively develop skills such as logic, anticipation, co-ordination and responsibility even before some of them are aware of the meaning of the words. It is the hope of the CMHL that through their participation these youths may also develop a sense of identity and accomplishment.
Today, the CMHL provides a hockey program for about 500 participants on 40 teams, including five non-contact House League divisions and six Select teams. The CHML House League program continually sees the development of players who go on to participate in more competitive teams in Select and Rep programs.

In 1998, the CMHL created the Chedoke Christmas Select Tournament (now known as the Winter Classic) to promote healthy competition for the Select teams. This well-known annual tournament has continued to grow and has hosted as many as 48 teams from the surrounding GTA, Niagara Region and south-western Ontario.

These successes would not be possible without the tireless and thankless contributions provided by the many volunteers and board members of the CMHL. The strength of the CMHL lies indeed in the supporting foundations of this organization.
The CMHL will continue its effort to providing the opportunity for children to enjoy the game of hockey during these most precious time of their lives. The CMHL will strive to develop and encourage sportsmanship and community spirit among all participants and volunteers to ensure that the game of hockey lives well and strong in the City of Hamilton.

History of CMHL Presidents
Bob Cober: 1992 - 1994
Chris Kelly: 1994 - 2001
Bill Cook: 2001 - 2004
Ross Firmin: 2004 - 2010
Jason Mancini: 2014 – 2018
Bryson Sherriff: 2018 - 2019
Dwayne Sterling: 2022 - present